Diocese of Ferns - Vocations


Go to content

Our Diocese

The diocese of Ferns covers most of the county of Wexford in the south-east corner of Ireland. Parts of it extend into the counties of Carlow and Wicklow, while a small portion in the north-east of Co. Wexford belongs to the Archdiocese of Dublin. It is bounded on the east by the Irish Sea, on the south by the Atlantic Ocean, and on the north and west by the dioceses of Dublin, Kildare & leighlin, Ossory and Waterford & Lismore.

The diocese has a population of about 105,000 catholics in forty nine parishes. The diocese gets its name from Ferns (Fearna, alder tree) where St. Maodhog (Aidan) had his first ecclesiastical foundation.

Please visit the Diocese of Ferns website: http://www.ferns.ie

Home Page | Bishop Brennan | Our Diocese | Our Students | First Steps | Questions | Ministries | Vocations Team | News | Links | Site Map

Last Update Feb 08 2016

Back to content | Back to main menu